Congratulations to the Class of 2022!

Celebrating graduating MA, JD/MA, and Undergraduate Certificate Students.

On May 7th, for the first time in two years, faculty, family, and friends came together at the Duke Bullpen to celebrate 20 new masters and 8 undergraduate certificate students during Science & Society’s 2022 Graduation ceremony.

Dr. Nita Farahany welcomed those in attendance followed by Professor Thomas Williams who provided the commencement address. Reflecting on the past two years, Williams thanked the cohort for their diligent work and their commitment to the many extracurricular activities that help make Duke and Science & Society so remarkable.

“[Thank you] for your commitment to one another especially in a moment where the world was turned sideways and upside down,” Professor Williams emphasized, “due to the pandemic, coupled with very real threats to the democratic ideals and institutions foundational to the policy discourse we engage in.”

Williams’ words reflect a similar message all master’s students hear during their initial Bioethics & Science Policy orientation. The various topics discussed throughout the program are often highly charged, but contrasting viewpoints are key to understanding ethical and policy problems and to developing actionable outcomes. Students are encouraged to not just voice their own views, but listen earnestly to those whom they may not agree with.

Professor Michael Waitzkin recognized the MA and JD/MA students alongside Professor Misha Angrist who presented certificates to undergraduates in the Science & the Public program.

2022 Graduates

Juris Doctorate / Master of Arts

Kaytlan Anderson

Sophie Mouros

Charles Provine

Roshan Rama

Alison Sechrest



Master of Arts

Julia Barlow

Elena Alexis Brown-Soler

Lucy DeStefano-Pearce

Galen Dods

Derrick Dwamena

Mark Featherston

Grace Greco

Taimur Kouser

Evan Nicholas Lee

Ryanne Lenderman

Amaranta Manrique de Lara y Ramirez

Genevieve Collette Munoz

Emily Annette Sen

Ben Shepard

Ashley Williams


Science and the Public Certificate

Tyler Grace Edwards

Ishaan Vinayak Kumar

Shrey Hiren Majmudar

Daniel Ryan

Anna Yang

Jeffrey Zheng

Zuanyu Zhou


Digital Intelligence Certificate

Niharika Vattikonda